welcome to BMS Link
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Jumping in at the deep end.. :)

2 posters

Go down

Jumping in at the deep end.. :) Empty Jumping in at the deep end.. :)

Post by Phelzier Tue Feb 03, 2015 7:52 pm

Hi folks,

I'm fairly new to this home automation stuff but I have jumped in at the deep end and trying to find something that fits my needs, hopefully this is it...

My setup is as follows:

17 Lightwave Dimmer Switches
40 Lightwave Double Sockets
1 Lightwave Dusk/Dawn Sensor
1 Lightwave Single Channel Thermostat (Not in use at present)

16 StellaZ TRV's
20 Fibaro Multisensors (Not delivered yet)

1 Owl Energy Monitor

1 Vera3 with RFXTrx
1 Lightwave Link (Not in use at present)

3 Axis 3025-VE Camera

1 Dell R620 runing ESX 5.5 (always on)
1 ReadyNAS 3000 with 8TB storage
1 Cisco WS-C35660G-24PS
1 Cisco 2500 WLAN Controller
2 Cisco AP's

VLANS Server
Cabled Clients & Wireless Clients
Guest Wireless (Cannot access above two VLANS)

I did originally have the Lightwave TRV's but sent them back as could not get them configured on iPhone, could be something in the config between wifi controller and layer 3 switch, don't think it's designed for that environment.
I currently use the Vera3 for my automation programming, but am finding some limitations and "features" that don't work as I think they should. I currently have my Vera 3 with RFXTrx in the upstairs hallway to get the best coverage around the house.

What am I looking for or what do I think I am looking for?

The ability to turn off all sockets and lights when in "night" mode. Works with Vera at present (most of the time)
StellaZ's do not seem to be too reliable on Vera and would like to control the valve using the Fibaro temperature.
Turn heating on and off depending on status of Stella Z's
Turn extractor fans on/off when humidity reaches set point in bathrooms.